Weekly “I’ve been”.. April 4th – 10th

4th to 10th of April I’ve been..

Reading: Wuthering Heights

  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë. I’m about halfway through this novel right now, and quite liking it so far. It’s about horrible, HORRIBLE people, as I’m sure most of you know (I’m really late to the party when it comes to this classic), but it’s well written and interesting so I can handle the unsympathetic main characters. For now at least.
  • I haven’t made much progress when it comes to Galileo’s Finger: The Ten Great Ideas of Science, which I’ve been reading for a long time now, but have to admit I haven’t picked it up the last week. I really like it and find most of the topics so interesting, but I just need a break between every theme I read about. Will try to get into it again this week though!

Watching:

  • Season 2 of Curb Your Enthusiasm. It’s great to have a TV-series in the 20-35 minute span that you can always put on, and I’ve just started watching Curb recently, and I’m loving it, although I’m usually cringing throughout the whole episode.
  • A film I watched last week that I really want to highlight is Das Boot (1981), which I thought was an amazing war movie, and although we watched the Director’s Cut which is a whooping 209 minutes long, I was never bored. Such a good film, brilliant acting and masterfully shot.Das Boot
  • We also rewatched Amadeus (1984), which both Tommy and I have seen before, but it was almost like watching it for the first time, as we were both quite young the first time and remembering very little. It was a great watch, and a must-see film for anyone interested in music. And Tom Hulce’s laugh is wonderful.

Listening to:

  • Christoper Tin – Baba Yetu. My choir is practicing this for our spring concert, and it’s soooo cool. I need to listen to it a lot to get a feel for the rhythm and how to pronunciation the text properly though, as I’ve never heard it before we started singing it (Yup, I’ve never played Civilization IV).

Doing:

  • Quite a lot of revising. Starting next week I have two take-home finals, before my month of interning at a library, so I’m going through all of this semester’s lectures and reading through the curriculum list.
  • Karaoke! Yaaay! After choir practice last Thursday a small bunch of us went to this amazing bar in Oslo called Syng, where you can rent your own karaoke room. With about 15.000 songs to choose from, we had such a good time, and will probably go again very soon.

Here’s to another good week. I’ll continue reading Wuthering Heights, but probably won’t have the time for any new books with my exams lurking just around the corner. This Saturday is also our choir’s practice day, where we use the whole day to go through our repertoire, before a well deserved party at the end. Before that I’ll just have to study hard 😉

Leave a Reply

